Governors Elect To Be Sworn In On Thursday

According to the law, which stipulates that the oath or affirmation must occur no earlier than 10 a.m. and no later than 2 p.m., 10 days after the candidates are proclaimed winners by the IEBC, newly elected governors will be sworn in on Thursday, August 25.

In addition to the six inaugural governors who will be retaking their 2017 seats, the Council of Governors (COG) will include 30 new members who will be taking on the role for the first time.

Four more people will continue to hold their positions and complete the second and last term.

These include the governors of Kisumu, Anyang Nyong’o, Wilber Ottichilo, Joseph Ole Lenku, and Nandi, Stephen Sang.

Johnson Sakaja and Paul Otuoma, the newly elected governors of Nairobi and Busia, are also expected to take the oath of office.

The recently elected independent governor of Taita Taveta, Andrew Mwadime, is also set to be sworn in.

Wisley Rotich, Benjamin Cheboi, Jonathan Bii (Uasin Gishu), Simon Kachapin (West Pokot), Joshua Irungu (Laikipia), Jonathan Lati Leleliit (Samburu), and Moses Badilisha Kiarie are the other governors taking office on Thursday (Nyandarua).

Additionally on the list are Mohamud Ali (Marsabit), Joseph Ole Lenku (Kajiado), Wilber Ottichilo (Vihiga), Mutula Kilonzo Junior (Makueni), Mohamed Adan Khalif (Mandera), Mohamud Ali (Isiolo), Kimani Wamatangi (Kiambu), and Ahmed Abdullah.

The county flag, coat of arms, constitution, and public seal must all be given to the new governor by the departing governor, according to the legislation. The newly elected governor will take office after obtaining his or her instruments of government.

The Council of Governors will arrange a full induction for the county leadership after the oath of office to explain government rules and regulations and to inform them of their obligations.

What do you think?

Written by Esther Oyugi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Fresh Details Emerge Into The Death Of Kirinyaga Returning Officer Geoffrey Gitobu

CS Magoha-Day Schools In Areas With Pending Elections To Close Next Monday