Fernandes Barasa Wins Kakamega Governor Seat

Fernandes Barasa has been declared the winner of the Kakamega Governor election.
The governor-elect, who ran on an ODM ticket, received 192,929 votes, outnumbering his ANC opponent Cleophas Malala, who received 159,508.

UDP’s Cyrus Jirongo received 5,974 votes, Independent Michael Osundwa received 1,146 votes, KANU’s Suleiman Sumba received 1,078 votes, MDP’s Samuel Omukoko received 761 votes, and Austin Opitso received 150 votes.

The total number of votes cast was 361,546 with 2,174 being rejected.

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) had postponed the county election due to a mix-up of ballot materials during the August 9th General Election.

What do you think?

Written by Esther Oyugi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

Raila Congratulates Barasa, Abdulswamad For Winning Governor Seats In Kakamega, Mombasa

The Supreme Court grants Raila permission to access IEBC servers.